Information about Addis Ababa University(AAU) 2022 Ethiopia


Addis Ababa University (AAU), which was established in 1950 as the University College of Addis Ababa (UCAA), is the oldest and the largest higher learning and research institution in Ethiopia. Since its inception, the University has been the leading center in teaching-learning, research and community services.


Addis Ababa University’s mission is to produce competent graduates, provide need-based community service and produce problem-solving research outputs through innovative and creative education, research and consultancy service to foster social and economic development of the country.


Addis Ababa University aspires to be ranked among the top ten pre-eminent African graduate and research universities in 2023.


Addis Ababa University is guided by the following core values/principles.

  1. Academic Freedom: The University upholds academic freedom as its core value whereby all its communities exercise the right to free expression of ideas and scholarship.

  2. Excellence: The University upholds excellence as the ruling standard in teaching, research, community service and scholarship, and commits itself to the attainment of the highest standards in academic performance.

  3. Integrity and Honesty: The University promotes honesty, integrity, ethical conduct, justice, fairness, and nurtures a culture of teamwork, collegiality and mutual support among members of the University community.

  4. Celebrating diversity: The University promotes and honors commonalities and differences in culture, ideas, religion, language, ethnic identity; upholds the principle of gender equality and acknowledges the vital role of every member of the community

  5. Reliance on Evidence and Authority of Reason: Pronouncement and undertakings of the University shall be founded on reason and evidence.

  6. Student-centeredness: The University is committed to providing an academically challenging and supportive learning environment that motivates students to be actively engaged in their own learning, decision making, and governance.

  7. Intolerance to corruption: The University promotes ethical conduct and fights corruption at individual, collective, and institutional levels and inculcates anti-corruption thinking and actions (including time on duty) among the University community.

  8. Transparency and Accountability: The University is committed to ensure accountability at institutional, group, and individual levels in an effort to implement its functions by openly displaying its scholarly ideas and works to the society.

  9. Entrepreneurial spirit: The University upholds and inculcates the spirit of entrepreneurship among its community.

Addis Ababa university have 10 colleges, 12 Research and Teaching Institutes and 12 schools.


  1. College of Social Sciences

  2. College of Humanities, Language Studies, Journalism and communication

  3. College of Development Studies

  4. College of Business and Economics

  5. College of Law and Governance Studies

  6. College of Education and Behavioral Studies

  7. College of Natural and Computational Sciences

  8. Skunder Boghossian College of Performing and Visual Arts

  9. College of Veterinary Medicine and Agriculture

  10. College of Health Sciences

Research and Teaching Institutes

  1. Academy of Ethiopian Languages and Cultures

  2. Addis Ababa Institute of Technology

  3. Aklilu Lemma Institute of Pathobiology

  4. Ethiopian Institute of Architecture, Building Construction and City Development

  5. Ethiopian Institute of Water Resources

  6. Institute of Biotechnology

  7. Institute of Educational Research

  8. Institute of Ethiopian Studies

  9. Institute of Geophysics, Space Science and Astronomy

  10. Institute of Peace and Security Studies

  11. Academy of Ethiopian Languages and Cultures

  12. Horn of Africa Regional Center and Environment Network


  1. Alle School of Fine Arts and Design

  2. School of Allied Health Sciences

  3. School of Commerce

  4. School of Earth and Planetary Sciences

  5. School of Information Science

  6. School of Journalism and Communications

  7. School of Medicine

  8. School of Pharmacy

  9. School of Public Health

  10. School of Social Work

  11. Yared School of Music

  12. Yoftahe Nigussie School of Theatrical Arts

More information

Address: NBH1, 4killo King George VI St, Addis Ababa

Google map location:,38.7587805,892m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m2!3m1!1s0x164b8f69f1dbdf67:0xb8a418693b6edef9

Phone: 011 123 9706

President: Tassew Woldehana

Founded: March 20 1950


E-student Portal:


Total students:47,610

Total Stuff: 6043

Academics Stuff: 2,408

support staff: 3,635

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top