SCHADS Award 2023 Pay Rates PDF and Guide Updated

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Keeping Payroll Systems Updated
  3. Recent Legislative Changes
  4. SCHADS Award Levels and classifications
  5. SCHADS Award Pay Rates for 2023
  6. SCHADS Award Pay Rates for 2024
  7. SCHADS Award’s impact for the employed


The Fair Work Commission has recently issued the SCHADS Industry Award for the fiscal year 2023-24 ( SCHADS Award 2023 ), effective from July 1. Employers are reminded to stay abreast of their obligations under this award to ensure compliance with minimum entitlements for their staff.

Keeping Payroll Systems Updated

Employers must promptly update their payroll systems to reflect any changes in wages and allowances outlined in the SCHADS Award. Failure to accurately pay these allowances can result in penalties for underpayment as well as back-pay obligations.

Recent Legislative Changes

Noteworthy amendments in Fair Work Legislation include automatic termination of “zombie agreements” predating 2010, an extension of unpaid parental leave under specified conditions, and granting workers the right to flexible work options to accommodate pregnancy and situations involving family or domestic violence.


SCHADS Award Levels and classifications

Under the SCHADS Award, employees are categorized based on qualifications, experience, and job responsibilities into four main groups:

A. Social and Community Services Employees
B. Crisis Accommodation Employees
C. Family Day Care Employees
D. Home Care Employees

SCHADS Award Pay Rates for 2023

You Can get the file in PDF format here here SCHADS Award 2023 Pay Rates PDF

Here are the SSCHADS Award 2023 Pay Rates:

Classification (Level)Minimum Full-Time Weekly Wage ($)Hourly Rate ($)Casual Hourly Rate ($)

SCHADS Award Pay Rates for 2024

For 2024, the SCHADS Award pay rates are expected to increase by approximately 4 to 5% starting July 1, 2024. These adjustments are projected to align with the Consumer Price Index (CPI), reflecting a 4.3% inflation rate in the preceding twelve months up to November of the prior year. Staying informed about these potential changes is essential for employers and employees in the Social, Community, Home Care, and Disability Services sector to uphold fair compensation standards.

SCHADS Award’s impact for the employed

Positive Impact for Direct Care Workers:

Direct care workers can anticipate positive outcomes with increased entitlements, including enhanced leave benefits, payroll enhancements, workers’ compensation adjustments, and improved superannuation. These enhancements contribute to the overall well-being and financial security of direct care workers within the industry.

Negative Impact for Non-Care Workers:
Non-care workers under the SCHADS may experience adverse effects, potentially missing out on pay increments following the revisions. This divergence in benefits might lead to workforce disparities, causing dissatisfaction and reduced morale among non-care workers who may feel undervalued compared to their care worker counterparts.Who falls under the purview of this award?
This award encompasses employers operating within the aforementioned sectors and their respective employees categorized within the relevant classifications. These employees may include support workers, support coordinators, personal care workers, and case managers.

It’s important to note that the term “family day care scheme” doesn’t refer to individuals directly engaged in child care duties. Instead, it pertains to roles involving tasks such as:

  • Registering family day care centers
  • Providing administrative support to centers
  • Assisting centers in accessing childcare subsidies for families.

The SCHADS Award also extends coverage to employees in administrative or clerical positions, albeit restricted to those in the social and community services sector or the family day care scheme sector. Clerical staff working in the home care sector or in crisis assistance and supportive housing fall under the purview of the Clerks Award.

However, it’s worth mentioning that nurses performing nursing responsibilities (i.e., registered or enrolled nurses) or healthcare professionals (e.g., physiotherapists, psychologists, counselors, etc.) are not covered by this award. They are typically covered by either the Nurses Award or the Health Professionals and Support Services Award, depending on their specific roles and responsibilities.

What sets apart the Home Care Sector from the Social and Community Services Sector?

The Award delineates clear definitions for each sector, elucidating the scope of work intended to be covered.
While there exist similarities between the two sectors, Home Care specifically entails work primarily conducted within a private residence. In contrast, Social and Community Services work predominantly occurs within the community or a residential setting such as a respite center.

It’s important to note that there can be instances where Home Care services extend beyond the home environment. For instance, the Level 2 Home Care classification mentions tasks like “accompanying clients on outings.” Similarly, Social and Community Services may sometimes be delivered in a client’s private residence, provided the service falls under the purview of social or community service.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top