Bahir dar university full information Ethiopia 2022

Background Information

Bahir Dar University was established by merging two former higher education institutions; namely the Bahir Dar Polytechnic and Bahir Dar Teachers’ College. The Bahir Dar Polytechnic Institute, which has transformed itself into Technology and Textile institutes, was established in 1963 under the technical cooperation between the Government of USSR and the Imperial Government of Ethiopia.

Founded: May 6, 2000
Total Enrollment: 52,830 (2016)
Campus: 6 campuses
  1. Zenzelma Campus
  2. Tena Campus
  3. Poly Campus
  4.  Peda Campus
  5. Gish Abay Campus
  6. Felege Hiwet Campus
President: Firew Tegegne Amogne


Bahir Dar University aspires to be one of the leading Research-Intensive Universities in Africa and the first choice in Ethiopia by 2030.


BDU is vested in with the following missions:

  •  Promote advanced research and innovation on the basis of the country’s requirements;
  • Produce graduates with relevant professions and necessary competences (knowledge, skills and attitude) to respond to the national labor market requirements to eventually ascertain the global competitiveness of the country;
  • Improve lives through evidence-based and transformative community engagement;
  • Enhance demand-driven and problem solving technology transfer


  • College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
  • College of Business And Economics
  • College of Education And Behavioral Sciences
  • College of Medicine And Health Sciences
  • College of Sciences

Departments at college of agriculture and environmental sciences

Departments at College of Business And Economics

  1. Management
  2. Accounting and Finance
  3. Logistics and Supply chain Management
  4. Economics
  5. Marketing Management
  6. Tourism and Hotel Management
The School of Medicine has the following Departments and Units:
  1. Department of Internal Medicine
  2. Department of General Surgery
  3. Department of Pediatrics and Child Health
  4. Department of Orthopedics
  5. Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  6. Department of Anesthesia
  7. Department of Psychiatry
  8. Radiology and Imaging Unit
  9. Dermatology and Venereology Unit
  10. Ophthalmology Unit
  11. Dentistry Unit
  12. ENT Unit
  13. Pathology Unit
  14. Physiology Unit
  15. Anatomy Unit
  16. Biochemistry Unit

Departments at College of Sciences

Bahir Dar University Learning Management System:

Online student information:

Human resource management system:

Property management system:

BDU journal:

Research information management system:

Contact Informations

P.O. Box 79,

Tel: +251 583 20 9653/ +251 583 20 6059

Fax: +251 583 20 60 94


Main Registrar Office:-  +251582205934

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top